top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Tocknell

Notation Software Tests

Updated: Dec 1, 2019

This is just a quick post to let you all know how exactly these notation tests are going to work. I hope these tests will help you decide which notation software is best for your situation.


A few things about myself first though, to provide some context for these tests. I have been using Sibelius from Sibelius 6 for about 6 years now. I have also had some experience working with Finale notepad in high school, and have doodled around with MuseScore. I am by far not the fastest person when using notation software, but have enough experience to know general shortcuts and the capability of most programs. I therefore feel like I am average enough to make reasonably fair judgements about each program.


Ok, so what will these tests involve? I will complete a timed test, which involve me notating part of my Prologue from my Elements Suite for String Quartet. You can see the section I have chosen in the pictures down below. If you would like to see the full work, you can contact me through the contact section of this site, or through Facebook. You will also notice I have used Sibelius to create this score; for the test, I will be re-creating it; no copy pasting here!

The timed test will determine how quickly I can re-notate the above. I have chosen this section for several of its qualities:

  • Being in 5/4 it has an unusual time signature. This part of the test shows me how far I can push the program in this direction, and how it handles beaming.

  • This section includes triplets and sextuplets, which allows me to comment on how easy these are to include in each software.

  • The Db major section will show me how hard or easy it is to work with accidentals.

  • The many syncopated rhythms will test how easy it is to work with different rhythms throughout the bar.

  • The usual things, such as dynamics, articulations, rehearsal marks, performance instructions etc. can also be tested.

Comments will not be limited to simply what is tried in notating Prologue. I will also comment on how user friendly the UI is, the accuracy of the program in following notation rules, the ability to customize the look of the final product, and for the free programs, what is only available in the premium versions.


So that's the test! As part of each review, I will give the program a score out of 5 for each different category, as well as an overall score. First one off the block will be Flat.io, so keep your eyes peeled for that!


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page